Picture of kids posing and laughing on a site

Friends Families and Travellers Awards 2020: Here’s the shortlist!

Today, Friends Families and Travellers (FFT) are proud to announce the shortlist for the very first Friends Families and Travellers Awards 2020!

The awards are to celebrate inspiring individuals from Gypsy, Roma and Traveller communities in Britain who have made a special contribution to society and their own communities.

It was a difficult choice – there were lots of inspiring and worthy nominations to choose from. Every person nominated works tirelessly to better their own lives and the lives of those around them. We’re proud of each and every one of you!

Here are the shortlisted people and projects for each of the six awards:

  • Inspirational Young Person Award
    • Angela Mahoney
    • Maggie and Jade Smith
    • Nathan Abdul Karim
  • Arts, Culture and Heritage Award
    • Thomas McCarthy
    • Damian Le Bas
    • Lorraine Golding
  • Sporting Excellence Award
    • Johnboy Smith
    • Darren Parker
    • Phoebe Buckley
  • The Education Award
    • Billie-Jo Sines
    • Kathleen Anne Boswell
    • Lisa Smith
  • Inspiring Project Award
    • Traveller Pride (Tyler Hatwell)
    • One Call Away (Caroline and Mark Penfold)
    • Life Changing Choices (Michael Johnson)
  • Alexander Award for Lifetime Achievement
    • Josie O’Driscoll
    • Joe Jones
    • Betty Smith-Billington

We were so moved by one nomination that we decided to create a special category. The Courage Award will be awarded to Jade Doherty, for her dedication and strong spirit during hard times. Well done, Jade!

Congratulations to you all and good luck! The awards will be held on the 6th March 2020 at the Brighthelm Centre in Brighton. Tickets are free, available to everyone and up for grabs here!

Join us for an evening of food, drinks and most importantly – celebration! On the night, we will announce the winners of the awards and be joined by some brilliant musicians.

We hope to see you there!

Sign up to our Newsletter

Scroll to Top