

HOUSE OF COMMONS

LONDON SW1A 0AA

Reed Hastings- Co-Chief Executive Ted Sarandos- Co-Chief Executive Netflix Corporate Headquarters 100 Winchester Circle Los Gatos CA 95032

9 February 2022

Dear Mr Hastings and Mr Sarandos,

Immediate removal of Jimmy Carr's Holocaust 'joke'

We write to you demanding the removal of the 'joke' about the Holocaust from Jimmy Carr's 'His Dark Materials' currently on Netflix.

Carr said: "When people talk about the Holocaust, they talk about the tragedy and horror of 6 million Jewish lives being lost to the Nazi war machine. But they never mention the thousands of Gypsies that were killed by the Nazis. No one ever wants to talk about that, because no one ever wants to talk about the positives."

Hundreds of thousands of Roma and Sinti people suffered prejudice, slave labour, sterilisation and mass murder simply because of their identity – these are not experiences for mockery.

Netflix's approval and funding of this material legitimises and perpetuates discrimination and racism. Gypsy, Roma and Traveller communities continue to face systematic discrimination. Allowing this material to exist on Netflix will have real life consequences.

Jimmy Carr's "joke" about the murder of Gypsy and Roma people in the Holocaust is offensive and disgusting. It normalises and endorses racism - and this is a step towards crimes against humanity and genocide.

You very deliberately approved this and we call on you to remove it immediately.

The Culture Secretary has also condemned Netflix over Jimmy Carr's comments and has stated that legislation will change to regulate media content, to hold Netflix to account 'very shortly'. However, we urge Netflix to remove 'His Dark Materials' immediately, rather than awaiting legislative change.

Yours sincerely,

Fleur Anderson MP and Lord Sheikh Co-Chairs of the All Party Parliamentary Group for the Prevention of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity

Martin Docherty-Hughes and Baroness Whitaker Co-Chairs of the All Party Parliamentary Group for Gypsies, Travellers and Roma



HOUSE OF COMMONS

LONDON SW1A 0AA

Co-signatories:

Debbie Abrahams MP Rushanara Ali MP Tahir Ali MP Lord Austin of Dudley **Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville** Lord Balfe Paula Barker MP Apsana Begum MP **Clive Betts MP** Paul Blomfield MP Lord Boateng Peter Bottomley MP **Baroness Boycott** Kevin Brennan MP Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Baroness Brown of Cambridge **Baroness Bryan of Patrick** Ian Bryne MP **Baroness Burt of Solihull** Liam Byrne MP Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Lord Cashman Baroness Chakrabarti **Daisy Cooper MP Bishop of Coventry** Stella Creasy MP Wayne David MP Marsha De Cordova MP **Baroness Deech** Allan Dorans MP Lord Dubs Lord Dykes Clive Efford MP Lord Evans of Weardale Stephen Farry MP Mary Foy MP Paul Girvan MP Lord Gold Kate Green MP Margaret Greenwood MP Lord Hain Emma Hardy MP

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hendy Wera Hobhouse MP Margaret Hodge MP Rupa Hug MP **Baroness Hussein-Ece Christine Jardine MP** Kim Johnson MP **Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb** Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Leigh of Hurley **Baroness Lister of Burtersett** Earl of Liverpool Tony Lloyd MP Tim Loughton MP **Caroline Lucas MP** Lord Lucas Earl of Lytton Lord Mackay of Clashfern Lord Mackenzie of Clukein Lord Mancroft Lord Mann of Holbeck Moor Baroness Manningham-Buller Baroness Masham of Ilton John Maxton MP Lord McAvoy **Baroness McGregor-Smith Baroness McIntosh of Pickering Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Baroness Mobarik** Carol Monaghan MP Lord Monks Lord Murphy of Torfaen **Baroness Neuberger Baroness Nevilee-Jones Baroness Northover** Lord Oates Baroness O'Loan Kate Osamor MP Kate Osborne MP Kirsten Oswald MP Lord Pickles



HOUSE OF COMMONS

LONDON SW1A 0AA

Lord Popat **Baroness Prashar Baroness Quin** Lord Ramsbotham Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Ranger **Baroness Rawlings** Lord Ribeiro Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP Lord Risby Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Rooker Virendra Sharma MP **Baroness Sheehan** Baroness Shephard of Northwold Lord Shipley Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord St John of Bletso Viscount Stansgate Jamie Stone MP Zarah Sultana MP Lord Suri **Baroness Taylor of Bolton** Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Touhig Lord Triesman **Baroness Uddin**

Christian Wakeford MP Baroness Walmsley Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Claudia Webbe MP Baroness Wheatcroft Philippa Whitford MP Nadia Whittome MP Mick Whitely MP Munira Wilson MP Beth Winter MP Theresa Villiers MP Lord Young of Norwood Green